Starting over…1 April 2021

The words spinning around in my head, struggling to move to my fingertips to flow into black and white. What a time! Not just the whole Covid circus, especially living in South Africa, but the deep ache in your belly, pain of loss, realisation, re-thinking, sorting and growing. With age comes wisdom apparently. I think I must be a late bloomer then, still waiting on that elusive wisdom, but maybe what I am is my own kind of wise, made up of my own stories, pain, laughter and life.

It is never easy to face your own demons, more so I think when you realise that by being kind and submissive, you were not helping people, you were getting yourself screwed over. Setting boundaries, tentative at first, cost me a few friends, which, looking back might not have been such a bad loss. The more assertive and selective you become with your energy and time, the more ties are broken. Family, especially, does not take kindly to you saying NO, or, ONLY ON MY TERMS, all of a sudden. Periods of stubborn silence, cut off from familiar patterns you were used to, leaves the heart and soul adrift. Do I go back to being the enabler and doormat, or do I stay and be good to myself. The answer, every time, will have to be: stay and be good to myself. Not the easiest option, but probably the healthiest option around, not just for me, but for everybody involved.

Facing up to your old patterns leave you unequipped to new relationships, scared between am-I-choosing-a-soul-that-needs-help or am I choosing from my new seat of power, albeit a bit shaky at the moment, still my seat of power? Time, I think, will tell, but for the moment, it is time for me, time to discover my old music again, time to discover new books, re-discover my love for writing and photography, finish my unfinished books, and of course, time to discover how much I love art and creating. Met the most awesome people on this new road of arting, Tamara, Effy, Melanie etc etc etc.

This is my time, my year and I am in my own seat, most of the time. May everyday be blessed with the will and strength to grow, stick to my guns, and explore and enjoy all the awesome sensual colourful pleasures of life, my life.

16 thoughts on “Starting over…1 April 2021

  1. Self discovery is a hard journey that has many costs, but it truly is worth is in the end. I think there’s something about being a woman in her 50s that makes us realize that the old ways of niceness just don’t work anymore. Cheers to you on this journey. I look forward to reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really resonate with what you are saying about boundaries. I’ve had a “shedding” year as a result of putting my own in place, and I’ve learned that some losses are really a release. I’m so glad to have you on this journey!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am an ICU nurse and the only one vaccinated in my family. I’ve
    missed birthdays, gatherings…total agreement regarding “my terms’. I too have eliminated many people from my circle. I am totally ok with it! I finally realized I am important to the person I should be important to, ME.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, so true! Freeing yourself of exhaustive ties and establishing your own firmer boundaries can be scary but wonderfully liberating! Happy to read this and I salute you and your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I think I’ve bloomed many times over, like a rose bush growing into itself. One small bloom early on, a rest for several years, put out some leaves, fight off aphids, more blooms as I grow in many directions. Now, one rose comes out at a time, thrives, turns into a rosehip full of vit c, and then another bloom.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment